The FFBC The Silence of Bones Blog Tour & Giveaway

The FFBC The Silence of Bones Blog Tour & Giveaway

I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak; Ears, but I mustn't hear; Eyes, but I mustn't see.

Partial synopsis provided by Goodreads.

The Silence Of Bones

Author: Joan Hur
Publication Date: April 21, 2020
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Page Count: 336
Format: Physical ARC
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Cover Artist: Kasiq Jungwoo
My Rating: ★★★

April 15th

 

April 16th

TheGeekishBrunette – Review + Favourite Quotes
moon & coffee – Review
Books, Tea, Healthy Me – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review
Clairefy – Review
 

April 17th

Ya It’s Lit – Review + Favourite Quotes
Biblio.JoJo – Review
Ohana Cascadia – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookishaestha – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Allisa White’s Book Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

April 18th

Belle’s Archive – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Adventurous Bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes
Books_andPoetrii – Review
 

April 19th

Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Layaway Dragon – Review
For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Review + Favourite Quotes
Readlogy – Review
 

April 20th

The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes + Book Aesthetic
dinipandareads – Review + Favourite Quotes
Lost in Storyland – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

April 21st

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast
Frayed Books – Review
Endless Chapters – Review + Favourite Quotes
Lu’s books – Review + Favourite Quotes

Instagram Schedule

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak; 

Ears, but I mustn’t hear; 

Eyes, but I mustn’t see. 

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman. 

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder. 

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly. 

 June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh. 

The Silence of BonesThe Silence of Bones by June Hur
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m excited to be a part of the THE SILENCE OF BONES blog tour with The Fantastic Flying Book Club from April 15th – April 21st, 2020!

I received an ARC of this book via Feiwel & Friends in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! In no way does this affect my rating or review.

description

All included quotes have been taken from an ARC and may not match the finished publication.

Content Warning: Murder, Indentured Servitude

“It is better for you not to know these things. Do not stand ou, do not be so curious, then you will have a long life, Seol.” I had resented her for this, though now I understood her better. The longing for knowledge only got me into trouble these days.


16-year-old Seol has always dreamed of a life filled with opulence. She’s dreamed that others would look up to her as if her station, but who she was mattered more. Being an indentured servant, however, has dashed any reality for her dreams.

Having to serve the local police, Seol works beneath a highly-respected inspector. She helps out with tasks that culture doesn’t permit–like men inspecting female corpses. When a young noblewoman is murdered, Seol must assist the inspector to uncover the nature of her murder.

Seol’s respect for the inspector comes into question when he becomes the prime suspect throughout the investigation. It’s up to Seol to uncover the truth behind the murder and to discover if the inspector is truly to be held accountable, along with trying to track down her missing brother.

Set in 1800 Korea, this thrilling mystery pushes the boundaries as Seol doesn’t refrain from questioning when societal norms oppose such inquisition.

My Blog ¦ Bookstagram ¦ Twitter ¦ Pinterest ¦ Facebook


View all my reviews

Pin it for later!

June Hur

JUNE HUR (‘Hur’ as in ‘her’) was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, and currently works for the public library. She lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter. Her debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, April 2020) is a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), and also a coming-of-age tale about a girl searching for home. It was recently selected by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top debuts of Winter/Spring 2020. She is represented by Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

Tour-wide Giveaway

Win a $30 gift card from an indie bookstore (US & Canada Only) 

Giveaway runs from April 15  April 29th, 2020 

I am the author behind Foals, Fiction & Filigree. An all-encompassing blog about horses, books, and my art.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
Back To Top
Subscribe!

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

%d bloggers like this: