The FFBC The Redpoint Crux Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway!

The FFBC The Redpoint Crux Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway!

Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.

Partial synopsis provided by Goodreads.

The Redpoint Crux

Author: Morgan Shamy
Publication Date: June 9, 2020
Publisher: The Parliament House
Page Count: 290
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
Cover Artist: Shayne Leighton
My Rating: ★★★★1/2

June 3rd

June 4th

L.M. Durand – Guest Post
Captivated Reading – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Faery – Review

June 5th

Indie and Diverse – Review
Small Stained Pages – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Life – Promotional Post
 

June 6th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Books and Zebras – Review
Inktalkswithmaria – Review
The Writers’s Alley – Review + Playlist

June  7th

Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookish Looks – Promotional Post
 

June 8th

BiblioJoJo – Review + Favourite Quotes
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Susan Heim on Writing – Promotional Post
 

June 9th

Kait Plus Books – Guest Post
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Playlist
Wishful Books Reviews – Review + Favourite Quotes

Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut. 

When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.  

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead. 

The Redpoint CruxThe Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

I’m excited to be a part of the THE REDPOINT CRUX blog tour with The Fantastic Flying Book Club from June 3rd – June 9th, 2020!

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, The Parliament Press, in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! In no way does this affect my rating or review.

description

All included quotes have been taken from an ARC and may not match the finished publication.

Content Warning: Death, Murder, Human Experimentation, Mental illness

She was done with brothers who reminded her of her dead father. She was done with the dance world that reminded her of her failure. She was done with strange men who confused her, intrigued her, and threatened her.
And she was done with music boxes.


Written by the gorgeous ballerina Morgan Shamy, this The Phantom of the Opera/Black Swan retelling easily has made it to one of my top reads for 2020! This book is everything that I needed in a book right now. Can one ever go wrong with a The Phantom of the Opera retelling? I don’t think so. Replacing the iconic Christine Daae is Red, a driven rock-climbing/ex-ballerina. Set between both the United States and Halifax, Nova Scotia, the story pattern feels “split” in a way between the contemporary world, and one set in a dreamlike past. The main character’s story arch mirrors a similar feel, with her rock-climbing career in the present and her ballet with the theatre pulling her into the past. Megan (Red) struggles with the push-and-pull of her life as she tries to leave her past, and its hurts, behind.

She had left the ballet world because she was afraid–afraid of not being the best–and she had run to something that came easier to her, even though she had a gift. She always ran when something was hard. She didn’t know how to face something head-on–including her own emotions.


After being kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, Red’s world takes a sudden nose-dive. Desperate to find her focus, she makes risky decisions that ultimately almost get her killed. After a rock-climbing accident, Red meets her “Angel of Music” who saves her. Thinking it was all a dream, she returns home to find that her coach and boyfriend is quitting, as their inappropriate relationship due to her being underaged was becoming noticed. With nowhere left to go and no sponsors, Red is forced to head back to Nova Scotia.

Upon arriving, unwanted memories begin to surface. A botched ballet career, the horrific death of her father, and the mental break of her mother begin to haunt her. Despite being reunited with her brother Nathan, the theater and her past are too much. Doing what she does best, Red tries to pawn off her belongings to get enough money to head back to the States. When the mysterious bridegroom killer–the man that killed her father–begins another killing-spree, Red is diverted from her flight and onto a path to find the killer with the aid of her mysterious masked savior.

She wanted to know why he wore that eye patch. She wanted to know his life story. Why he lived down here. What this…this feeling was between them when they danced. The feeling was warm. Comforting. Frightening. Intense. She liked it. She wanted this feeling to last forever.


As she becomes more familiar with Bellamy, the mysterious eyepatch-wearing young man living beneath the theater in her father’s secret lab, she slowly falls for his dark allure. Reluctant, yet caring beneath his threatening exterior, Bellamy helps Red confront issues in her past, and encourages her towards healing. Red ultimately must face her biggest hurdle–her mother–and come to forgive hurts that she has caused.

Overflowing with atmosphere, The Redpoint Crux will not disappoint, as the gruesome mystery ties in healing, but also devastating heartache. With a serial killer on the loose, a mysterious “phantom,” ghostly ballerinas, and so much more, this vivid tale won’t be one that’s forgotten soon. For anyone familiar with The Phantom of the Opera, the multitude of correlations won’t be easily missed and were retold in a delectable way. Get ready to have your heart broke.

Vulgarity: Minimal.
Sexual content: Minimal – Kissing.
Violence: Moderate.

My Rating: ★★★★1/2

My Blog ¦ Bookstagram ¦ Twitter ¦ Pinterest ¦ Facebook


View all my reviews

Pin it for later!

Morgan Shamy

Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represented by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency. Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.  She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.  Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

Want to win a copy for yourself?

Prize: Win a $10 Amazon gift card (INT) 

Giveaway runs from June 3rd 2020 – June 17th 2020 

I am the author behind Foals, Fiction & Filigree. An all-encompassing blog about horses, books, and my art.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
Back To Top
Subscribe!

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

%d bloggers like this: