The FFBC The Raven and the Dove Blog Tour Stop

The FFBC The Raven and the Dove Blog Tour Stop

...he will stop at nothing to have her.

Partial synopsis provided by Goodreads.

The Raven and the Dove

Series: The Raven and the Dove #1
Author: Kaitlyn Davis
Publication Date: March 10, 2020
Publisher: Self Published
Page Count: 502
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings
Cover Artist: Salome Totladze; Map: Arel B. Grant
My Rating: ★★★

March 9th

 

March 10th

NovelKnight – Guest Post
The.magicalpages – Review + Favourite Quotes
Colby Wilkens – Review
Bibliomedico – Review + Favourite Quotes
Lauren’s Boookshelf – Review + Playlist
 

March 11th

biblioxytocin – Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post
Ya It’s Lit – Review + Favourite Quotes
Hooked on Bookz – Review
Starlight Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

March 12th

The Reading Life – Guest Post
Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
Chanda Reads – Review
Booked J – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
indelible ink inscribes – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

March 13th

L.M. Durand – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book Briefs – Review
The Shelf Life Chronicles – Review + Favourite Quotes
Annej Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

March 14th

Bookish Looks – Guest Post
A Court of Coffee and Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Your Words My Ink  – Review + Dream Cast
Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
 

March 15th

Kait Plus Books – Interview
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Dazzled by Books – Review
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

Instagram Tour Schedule

Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo! 

A princess longing to be free… 

On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts wander to the open sky waiting at the edge of her floating kingdom. One final adventure calls. Upon fleeing the palace, the last thing she expects to find is a raven prince locked in a death match with a dragon. 

A bastard aching to belong… 

Reviled son of a dead king, Rafe would do anything for his beloved half-brother, Prince Lysander Taetanus, including posing as him in the upcoming courtship trials. When a dragon interrupts their secret exchange, he orders his studious sibling to run. After suffering a fatal blow, Rafe is saved by a beautiful dove who possesses forbidden magic, just like him. 

Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart… 

Unknown to the world above, on the foggy sea ten thousand feet below, a young king fights a forgotten war. He believes Lyana is the queen prophesied to save the world, and with the help of his favored spy, hidden deep in the highest ranks of the dove royal house, he will stop at nothing to have her. 

Three shocking betrayals. Two star-crossed lovers. One unforgettable journey. If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you’ll never see coming, don’t miss The Raven and the Dove! 

The Raven and the Dove (The Raven and the Dove, #1)The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m excited to be a part of THE RAVEN AND THE DOVE blog tour with The Fantastic Flying Book Club from March 9th – March 15th, 2020!

I received an ARC of this book from Amazon via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! In no way does this affect my rating or review.

description

All included quotes have been taken from an ARC and may not match the finished publication.

Content Warning: Injury, Attempted murder, Natural disaster (earthquake), Cheating

Lyana was dying to see beneath the Sea of Mist. To fly through the impenetrable white and discover what lay beyond. But that wasn’t her future, no matter how she wished it could be.


Lyana Aethionus is the princess of the doves. A life at court isn’t nearly as alluring for her as the skies above and the mist below. Strong-willed Lyana dreams of the fanciful, rather than forward to the upcoming courtship trials where she is to choose a mate. That is, until she happens upon an alluring prince of the ravens after he is injured fighting a rogue dragon. Lyana, possessing a special and forbidden magic, uses her ability to help mend the broken prince back to health–not expecting the surprising secret that the prince harbors himself.

Rafe knew what people gossiped about in the dark halls of their castle. How the ravens had lost favor with the other gods, how their patron god was weakening, how they’d been cursed.


Rafe is the bastard prince to a dead king. Despite his origins, his relationship with his half-brother and prince has always remained strong. The two have looked out for one another since they were young; Lysander making sure Rafe remained in the palace even though his mother disliked him, and Rafe with his loyalty to protecting his appointed brother. With the upcoming event that will secure a mate for the young prince, they both know that the forever-injured Lysander cannot compete in the trials with only one hand. Scheming with his look-alike half brother to stand in his place in the courtship trials, Rafe will do anything to help his brother and his people. As the ravens, the Court of Whisperings, have been rumored to have lost favor with their dying god, a match must be sealed for Prince Lysander. With Lysander’s injury, Rafe must take his place in disguise in order to make that happen.

The plans between the brothers are perfect until the dragon attacks, and Rafe disappears. Having a special magical ability as well, Lysander expects that his brother is alright, but must locate him before the ceremony. He searches, and finds Rafe alive and on the mend–just in time for the trials.

Lyana and Rafe both know about each other’s magic–which is a secret to all as magic is forbidden in the floating isles. With new determination, Lyana goes into the trials knowing who she will choose as her forever mate, only to find that what she expects turns out to be a rouse. Full of turmoil, betrayal, and heartache, The Raven and the Dove builds an enchanting story based around entangled lovers and forbidden magic. Written in 3rd person point-of-view, the reader often knows more about the characters than they do, but not by much. What is most intriguing about this story is how it is structured, and that even at the end, only part of the entire plot is shared. There is certainly much more to come in future installments, and a much broader world to discover.

Forbidden magic, secret alliances, beautiful world-building, diverse characters and unique plot-lines gives The Raven and the Dove a poignant voice in the Young Adult Fantasy scene. Not to mention, forbidden romance loosely retelling the romance between Tristan and Iseult. The Raven and the Dove is compared to the works of Sarah J. Maas, but it is certainly much more structured, better-written, focused, and more Young Adult reader friendly, as it doesn’t include scenes that are certainly paralleled to erotica. With unique world building and a tale that intricately weaves characters on strategic paths, it is a very promising start to a fresh and exciting series.

Vulgarity: Minimal, if any.
Sexual content: Kissing. Nothing explicit, but two characters do cheat with one another.
Violence: Minimal to moderate.

My Rating: ★★★★

My Blog ¦ Bookstagram ¦ Twitter ¦ Pinterest ¦ Facebook


View all my reviews

Pin it for later!

Kaitlyn Davis

Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publisher's Weekly has said, "Davis writes with confidence and poise," while USA Today has recommended her work as "must-read romance." To learn more about her contemporary romance novels, visit her Goodreads author page for Kay Marie here: https://www.goodreads.com/Kay_Marie Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she's not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her--about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general--you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com Sign up for Kaitlyn's newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases and more! http://bit.ly/AuthorNewsletter

Promotions

The pre-order price is $2.99 for the first week of on sale, and after that the price will increase to $3.99 

Possible tweets (provided by the author): 

1) A princess longing to be free. A bastard aching to belong. Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart… Don’t miss #TheRavenandtheDove – available now for only $2.99! #YAlit #fantasybooks  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07XSC7RFQ/ 

2) Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo! Don’t miss #TheRavenandtheDove – available now for only $2.99! #YAlit #fantasybooks  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07XSC7RFQ/ 

3) If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you’ll never see coming, don’t miss #TheRavenandtheDove – available now for only $2.99! #YAlit #fantasybooks  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07XSC7RFQ/ 

Want to win a copy for yourself?

Prize: Win an Amazon.com $15 Gift Card (INT) 

Runs March 10th – 24th 2020 

I am the author behind Foals, Fiction & Filigree. An all-encompassing blog about horses, books, and my art.

2 thoughts on “The FFBC The Raven and the Dove Blog Tour Stop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
Back To Top
Subscribe!

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

%d bloggers like this: