The FFBC Sisters of Sword and Song Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway

The FFBC Sisters of Sword and Song Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway

But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.

Partial synopsis provided by Goodreads.

Sisters of Sword and Song

Author: Rebecca Ross
Publication Date: June 23, 2020
Publisher: HarperTeen
Page Count: 432
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Cover Artist: 
My Rating: ★★★★★

June 17th

 

June 18th

Pooled Ink – Guest Post
Books.Bags.Burgers – Review + Favourite Quotes
Sleepydoe Reads – Review
TheGeekishBrunette – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review
 

June 19th

A Court of Coffee and Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Fangirl Pixie Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes + Playlist
Captivated Reading – Review
 

June 20th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

June 21st

The Bookish Ballad – Review + Favourite Quotes
L.M. Durand – Review
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
 

June 22nd

Hooked on Bookz – Review + Favourite Quotes
BiblioJoJo – Review
Kait Rose – Review + Favourite Quotes
Wishful Endings – Review
Port Jericho – Review
 

June 23rd

Kait Plus Books – Interview
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Jinxed Reviews – Review + Favourite Quotes

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives. 
 

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder. 
 

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death. 

Sisters of Sword and SongSisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Content Warning: Manslaughter, Torture, Death

Sometimes I forget that we have descended from the god of the wind. A god who broke himself for love of another. But every now and then, a generation will remember what it is like to fly, and they will grown their own wings. Such as Halcyon. Such as you, Eva.”

Sisters of Sword and Song is an outstanding standalone. Rebecca Ross has done it again, and even better this time! Inspired by Ancient Greek Mythology, the story alternates between two sisters, Evadne & Halcyon.

There were nine divines. Well, eight now, since Kirkos was no longer considered a deity with his fall. Magda, mother goddess of the son; Irix, father god of the sky; and their six divine offspring; Ari, goddess of the moon and dreams; Nikomides, god of war; Acantha, goddess of fate and knowledge; Euthymius, god of earth and beasts; Loris, goddess of water and sea; Pyrrhus, god of fire; and Kirkos, god of the wind.

From a family descended from Kirkos, the forgotten god of wind, magic hasn’t resurfaced in their line for some time.

And so their magic had trickled into mortal blood, and magical children had been born.
But not every child born inherited the magical gift of the gods. It was a fickle thing, skipping a son or a daughter, and then skipping entire generations….But they each left behind a possession, a relic of theirs that was infused with magic. The divines hid them throughout Corisande, hoping the relics would be claimed by common-blooded people, those who were magicless. So the era of the relic hunters had begun.

Evadne, without magic and a bum foot, has worked in the fields and vineyards. Halcyon, on the other hand, was chosen to become an elite member of the hoplite and part of the Queen’s army and has been away training for eighth years. On the night when she is supposed to return home, Evadne finds her sister hidden in her room, fearful and on the run. Without telling why she was running, Evadne knows that something terrible has befallen her sister.

When the Commander arrives, seeking Halcyon, it isn’t long before she is caught nearby, and the family learns about her plight. Charged with the murder of her sparring partner and the son of the Commander, Halcyon is sentenced to fifteen years of imprisonment, hard labor, and indentured servitude to the Commander’s family. Unable to bear her sister’s fate, Evadne offers to take half of her sister’s sentence.

”But when I watched you crawl out my window the other night, knowing you were in trouble and yet uncertain as to where you were going…I felt it again. The pain of you leaving. I told myself that I would not be left behind this time. That I would follow you, that I would go wherever you went, even if that meant helping you carry a punishment you do not deserve.”

As the sisters are again separated, over the course of their sentence they learn that they are working towards the same goal: uncovering the truth behind the Queen’s declining fair reign over their nation. Evadne is enlisted to become the scribe to the Commander’s gifted son Damon. In their new partnership, Evadne learns about the depth of her sister’s former work and just how important it is for her mission to be accomplished. A power-hungry mage must be stopped before all of the lost relics are confiscated by magic users to possess only.

Indeed, it only made Evadne all the more dangerous, for she had come from the one divine who was not afraid to break.

A tale about the unconditional love between two sisters, Sisters of Sword and Song is intoxicatingly and intricately developed and wonderfully written.

My Blog ¦ Bookstagram ¦ Twitter ¦ Pinterest ¦ Facebook


View all my reviews

Pin it for later!

Rebecca Ross

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor's degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.

Want to win a copy for yourself?

Prize: Win a copy of SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG by Rebecca Ross + 4 myth cards (The Fall of Kirkos, Ari’s Shawl of Stars, The Entrapment of Pyrrhus, and Acantha’s Crown) [US Only] 

Giveaway runs from June 17th – July 1st, 2020 

I am the author behind Foals, Fiction & Filigree. An all-encompassing blog about horses, books, and my art.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
Back To Top
Subscribe!

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

%d bloggers like this: